Latino spirit

The cultural shocks continue. It’s been a while since I arrived to this side of the world and  my cultural background keeps giving me plenty of surprises. After several hours of listening to “Latino music” – from all sort of Latin-American countries and styles-  I found out that the “telenovela” phenomenon is present in every single feature of our beings.

Recently I’ve been involved in a number of ups and downs that challenged my mental stability (not that I am clinical crazy yet); and I found out that some of those episodes have been directly affected by the Latino perception of the social environment.  I am not sure that this is a good thing, so from now on, although I will never stop being a latina, I will try to Europeanize my behavior in certain aspects.  How it will end, I have no idea.

Responder

